President Biography – Jan Ballman

jan bwJan Ballman, RPR, CMRS, FAPR, DSA-MN
President & CEO, Paradigm Reporting & Captioning

“I’m extremely proud of the fact that the most skilled and highly credentialed court reporters in this state have chosen to affiliate with Paradigm.”

Jan has always had a knack for business development and maintaining strong client relationships, which served her well when she decided to start her own firm with Jayne Seward and Lisa Richardson in the early ´90s. A court reporter since 1981, Jan believes that ethics and integrity should be woven into every aspect of business.

When those values were threatened in the 1990s with the emergence of insurance contracting with court reporters, Jan and her partners fought at the state legislature to ban the practice – and those efforts resulted in a state law that requires court reporters to disclose exclusive contracts made with any party in a case. To leverage their value-based position in the market, Jan and her partners merged with two other firms in 1998 to form Paradigm Reporting & Captioning Inc. and became the largest and most technologically advanced reporting agency in Minnesota.

Jan provides structure to Paradigm management since retiring her steno machine in 2002 and accepting the CEO position. With her consensus-building leadership, the firm has evolved into a national firm known for providing high-end court reporting, captioning, CART, videoconferencing, digital videography and web-streaming applications.

“We genuinely strive to be recognized as progressive and ethical leaders in our industry,” Jan says.

Whether Paradigm is reporting for high-profile litigation, connecting people all over the world via videoconferencing technology, or providing a blind and deaf university student with an instant Braille display in a lecture hall, Jan views Paradigm´s primary strength as exceptional customer service – developing solutions and seamlessly delivering them to clients.

In 2004, Jan was honored with the Distinguished Service Award by the Minnesota Association of Verbatim Reporters & Captioners. She has chaired numerous state and national committees within the court reporting industry since 1983 and continues to advocate for professionalism in her writing, mentoring and networking activities.


  • Northern Technical School of Business, 1981 Court Reporting Graduate

Professional Certifications and Honors

Service and Community Involvement

  • Chair – National Court Reporters Foundation (2014-2016)
  • Board of Directors – STAR (2013-2014)
  • Vice Chair – National Court Reporters Foundation (2012-2014)
  • Chair – Minnesota Women Lawyers Legal Wine Lovers Committee (2012-Present)
  • Chair – Minnesota Women Lawyers Research Committee (2011-2015)
  • Secretary Treasurer – National Court Reporters Foundation (2011-2012)
  • Founding Board Member – TeamWomenMN (2011-Present)
  • Member – Women Presidents Organization (2008-2013)
  • Trustee – National Court Reporters Foundation (2009-2010)
  • Member – St. Paul Police Foundation Board (2009-2010)
  • Member – NCRA Marketing Court Reporter Value Task Force (2008-2009)
  • Chair – NCRA Firm Owners Community of Interest (2006-2008)
  • Co-Chair – NCRA Affinity Programs (2007-2008)
  • Co-Chair – NCRA Public Relations Committee (2007-2008)
  • Chair – NCRA Freelance Community of Interest (2004-2006)
  • Chair – Minnesota Association of Verbatim Reporters & Captionsers’ Distinguished Service Award Committee (2005)
  • Member – NCRA Constitution and Bylaws Committee (2002-2003)
  • Member – MAVRC Past President Advisory Council
  • Founding Editor in Chief of MFCRA’s quarterly publication THE FREELANCER
  • Vice President – Minnesota Court Reporters Association (1992)
  • Chair – MFCRA Nominating Committee (1992)
  • Member – Janus Committee (four-person committee, chosen by presidents of MCRA and MFCRA, to merge MCRA and MFCRA back into one state association) (1993)
  • President – Minnesota Freelance Court Reporters Association (1990)
  • Frequent contributor of articles to state and national court reporting publications
  • NCRA & MAVRC Mentor
  • Frequent presenter of CLEs
  • Frequent speaker for Dress for Success & Going Places Network
  • Member – The Power of 100 – Twin Cities 
  • Member – Minnesota Association of Verbatim Reporters & Captioners
  • Member  – Society for the Technological Advancement of Reporting
  • Anoka Technical College (Advisory Board Member)
  • St. Paul Police Foundation (Auction Chair)
  • Convent of the Visitation High School (Past Fundraising Event Committee Chair)
  • Nativity of Our Lord Catholic Church (Past Fundraising Event Committee Chair)
  • Birthright of St. Paul (Past Director)
  • Archdiocese of St. Paul (Past Fundraising Committee Member)